Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMovies · 2 months ago

For those of you who watch war movies: Do you prefer those depicting events during a war from within your own lifetime, or from before it?

For example if you were born in 1980, would you rather watch one depicting events from World War 2 such as Hacksaw Ridge or Hamburger Hill in the Vietnam War .. or one from post 9 / 11 such as American Sniper ?

Update:

bq: Are you a veteran and/or who from your life has served ?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

I am not a veteran but I lived through WWII, Korea, Vietnam and the rest and was in the Air Force Reserves for 9 years from 1950 but was not called up for the Korean War. I did follow WWII closely on radio and in newspapers and form tales told by my father and all of my uncles who were in the war so i have lots of knowledge on the war and see lots of mistakes in war movies and even accounts in the news by Journalists who do not know there history which these days includes a majority of all journalists in the major news networks. I liek war movies that are good regardless of the period in history but am running out of ones to watch as I have seen most of them. 

• 2 months ago

I prefer movies depicting war before my lifetime.  Glory has been my favorite movie of all time, since I was 8.  I grew up on a lot WWII and Vietnam movies, being born in the 80s, but I am mostly intrigued by the ones set before the 20th century.  Heaven and Earth, a film about two major waring factions in Feudal Japan is my second favorite.  Hacksaw Ridge and Blackhawk Down are my favorites from the modern era.  I never served, but my dad was a Marine Corps drill instructor, which has a lot to do with my interest in military films. 

• 2 months ago

It doesn't matter to me as long as it's a good movie.

• 2 months ago

I am a US Navy Veteran, and enjoy good Naval movies.....

Pearl Harbor,  USS Indianapolis, Midway,  Crimson Tide,   Final Countdown,  Battleship, ...