Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Games & RecreationBoard Games · 1 month ago

Is this legal in chess?

My brother got his bishop to my side, so I said do you want to switch it for anything, he said no, so we kept playing. His bishop stayed in the same spot and later he sacrificed his took to get to my side, I took it and he said "I'll switch the bishop for the rook now" he says it's not NOT a rule, but he cant just do that can he?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

    The only piece that can get promoted is the pawn, and that's as soon as it reaches the 8th rank.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    No, never sacrifice a 'took'.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Yavan
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

    No, that's all very wrong.

    Only pawns promote. No other piece does this. And the pawn MUST promote to either  a rook, a knight, a bishop or a queen, immediately upon reaching the 8th rank (or 1st rank for Black).

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.