Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 4 weeks ago

How much should I charge for a book proposal?

I was hired by someone to write a book proposal but now after looking up the position, I'm worried I am being ripped off. She wants it to be about 17 pages at a minimum wage of $12 an hour. She estimates it will be about 15 hours of work. However, after researching, people are saying they charge much more. I've never written a book proposal before, but I'm aware of what is required to write one. Is the price of 12/hr reasonable or am I being duped? I'm a college student looking to make money during the summer with writing jobs, but I am not sure if the price we are at is worth the work involved in a book proposal. 

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Speed
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer

Duped, big time. Unless you've signed a contract, I would not work on this until you've worked out a better deal.

She's offering 15 hours of work at $12 per hour, or $180.

Look up the rates for various jobs at the Editorial Freelancers Association. Writing for hire has several categories, including Grants/Proposals/Sales/PR . They indicate prices of $50–60/hour or 30¢–95¢/word.

Say she's right and it takes you exactly 15 hours. A pro would charge a minimum of $750 (15 hours x $50). Say as a non-professional, you charge half that rate, or $375. That's more than double what she's offering.

I don't see how she can estimate the hours it will take to write, to be honest, which is why I'd urge you to go for a payment by the word. There are a lot of variations, but if a page is single spaced with one inch margins all around, you're going to have a minimum of 500 words to the page on the average, possibly as much as 650 or 700.

(I write fiction, with dialogue that results in lots of lines that aren't full, and I just checked four pages of my open document. All were over 600 words in Times New Roman 12, single spaced, which is what I write and edit in.)