Anonymous

How do I tell my parents I might wanna transfer colleges?

Sorry if this is long, I’m just really conflicted at the moment. I’ve devoted literally my entire life to music, and my mom has always told her friends how “naturally gifted” I am with it, and everyone in my town knows me for my musical talent and my getting into a pretty prestigious music college. She’s also paid so much for me to attend every semester, and I’ve never seriously pursued anything else other than music, but I have tons of hobbies that I equally love and am considerably good at as well. When I started at my college and we got to the grime and such of music making, I realized I just dont enjoy that aspect at all and instead only really enjoy performing or lyric writing. And one hobby I’ve always particularly loved other than music is linguistics and learning languages. Going to Berklee exposed me to other cultures and other languages and only made my love for it grow, and even when I’m studying hard and I’m tired/stressed, learning languages makes me so happy no matter what. I’ve been thinking of transferring colleges, or exploring more into some universities with good language programs, but I’m absolutely terrified of how let down my mom will be if I even mention not pursuing music, and I’m equally as scared of looking back later in life and regretting not sticking to music. Any help is appreciated, thanks! 

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Stick with Berklee. It's the best school in pop music, songwriting, lyricists, etc. which sounds like your predominant interest. You aim to be singer-songwriter? That's the place to be. You DO need to know a great deal about music theory, composition, etc. The broader your background, the more tools you have to use in songwriting, etc. Or even get some sort of job in the industry while you try to get more gigs, make a name for yourself.