Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetSoftware · 2 months ago

How does a server degrade? Isn’t it just software? ?

I’ve heard of a few different online games being taken down through the years and one game in particular (runescape classic) still makes me sad that it’s no longer around. One reason I’ve heard about why it was removed is that their servers were degrading and they were basically just waiting for errors to occur and that would somehow create lawsuits. I’m just wondering, how can software degrade? Can’t they just make copies of it? I don’t think it can change itself without a human changing something.. I also don’t know how that could lead to lawsuits. How do servers degrade, what does that mean? 

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Senlis
    Lv 4
    2 months ago

I'm not a system administrator by trade, so keep that in mind when you read my answer.

It could be said that servers "degrade" in the sense that they need maintenance, either fixing hardware faults or software faults.  Generally, hardware doesn't "degrade" very quickly, but things can still break over time.  The bottom line is that  servers cost money to maintain.  That money can be in man-hours fixing faults, updating the server (hopefully), in bandwidth costs, license fees, or more. There must be some good reason for the company to keep those running (usually in the form of revenue).  If the game owners no longer want to pay to run the servers, hopefully they open source the server so the community can run it.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago