Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceStudying Abroad · 2 months ago

How to get into graduate program in the US for free?

Hello. I am not American student. I am an university student in France.

I want to study mechanical engineering in the US

I want to get into graduate program, but I don't have enough money.

I have heard that any students, even foreign students, can study for free in graduate programs. Is it true? If so, how?

Please tell me!

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

Totally false. You must prove you (& your parents) have sufficient funds for all school + living expenses + return transportation to your country of citizenship to apply for any visa. No money = no visa. Expect to need at least USD50,000/year. Foreign students do not qualify for most of the sorts of financial aid available in US - US citizens or legal permanent residents only. Financial aid for foreign students is typically very limited to non-existent, and competition for any funds which might be available is extremely tough.

Do not expect any financial aid, unless you obtain that from your country's programs for its citizens (if any), or obtain private scholarship or foundation assistance. You'll still need money, even if any of these are options for you. If you & your parents do not have adequate funds, do not waste time & money applying for admission.

• ...Show all comments
    • drip
      Lv 7
      2 months agoReport

They, who is they?  What programs? Study aboard programs through your university still cost money, I have never heard of one that is long than one school year/ 2 semesters. 

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • drip
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

Even at the Graduate level getting any kind of financial aid is slim for international students.

Getting into ay engineering graduate program at any university is highly competitive. You can look into grants, scholarship, fellowship and stipends, but those a highly competitive also.