Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsAstronomy & Space · 11 months ago

Maybe mankind should first answer the question, when,what,why,how, planets orbit our sun??

Why circular direction? why specific spacing distance? why same direction "all clockwise except one" ? What determines speed of the rotation? How long are we talking for a solar system to form? and how accurate is that guess...…..Can anyone answer any of this? Before we drive to marrs maybe mankind should pass the space driving test

Update:

Hmmm, I just thought if NASA was using my tax dollars to research recycled human shIIt, for space exploration, some of this stuff would be common knowledge? Don't hurt yourself

22 Answers

Relevance
  • 11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

As a physics student I will try my best to answer all these questions. 

1. Planets do not orbit in a circular direction, they orbit in an elliptical, or ovular, direction and they do this because perfect circular orbit is near impossible to accomplish. 

2. I don't know what you mean by specific spacing distance, but planets are just naturally spaced out depending on how they entered/formed in the solar system.

3. All planets spin counter clockwise, not clockwise. If you're referring to Venus, it spins counterclockwise upside down, which causes the effect of it spinning clockwise. Uranus is special too because it spins on its side like a bowling ball. This happened because of major collisions with meteorites causing it to rotate it's spin 90 degrees.

4. The speed of a planets rotation depends on how the planet was formed and if it was bombarded with space material. The speed of a planets rotation around the sun is determined by the planets mass and its distance from the sun.

5. Solar systems take hundreds of millions to billions of years to form. Our solar system formed in about 500 million years.