promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
carlo asked in Society & CultureLanguages · 2 months ago

How do you usually read time in English?

"It's 7:03 now."

How do you usually read the sentence above?

Is it "seven three"?  Or "seven oh three", or any other way?  What do you usually say when you mention time?

I'm studying English.  Thank you in advance. 

10 Answers

Relevance
  • M.
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

It's seven o three.

"Oh" is something else!

Oh, it's you!

But "o" is really a mistake, because it's a letter of the alphabet.  People in the USA often say "o" when reading off numbers.  It should be "zero", but seven zero three sounds psychotic.  So how can I manage to say this correctly, without too much mess?

It's three after seven.

or

It's three past seven.

It may sound a bit odd, but we speak like this in the USA.  I do believe that Britons also say it this way.

Seven o three sounds the best but has problems.

But communications are good as long as the listeners understand what the speaker is saying.

To me, in the USA, "half six" is not clear.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

English is unusual in that we very often say 'oh' as in the letter o instead of zero. So we would say seven oh three in this case. Pretty much any time you see the number 0 you can say 'oh' except when counting down. You can't say five four three two one oh, for example, you have to say zero there. But in phone numbers, time, dates, etc, you can say 'oh' instead of zero.

• 2 months ago

I'm British, 70+.I say 'It's seven oh three' or 'It's three minutes past seven'.

If I don't need to be particularly accurate, I'll say 'It's nearly five past seven' or 'It's not long after seven'.

• 2 months ago

Seven O three. :)

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • JASON
    Lv 5
    2 months ago