promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Should I drop out of high school?

I'm 16 and I'm very good at coding. I've done many projects and have made about 10k USD from freelance coding for the past few months now. Should i drop out or not?

Update:

I've been coding for like 5 years now

25 Answers

Relevance
  • 21 hours ago

Sure, and I would like fries with that, please.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Andrea
    Lv 5
    6 days ago

I'm going to answer with a big emphatic "No!" 

Anyone I've ever met who has dropped out regretted it. Those who haven't regretted have got to be in the very small minority. If you choose to get your GED later, it can be a chore. Just like in high school, you have to go to classes/learn online and study. It can take several months to prepare for the GED. It takes a lot of motivation to do it, especially if you do it years after high school. Read the quote below and take it into consideration. You may be very talented at coding, but you don't know what the future holds. Financial security usually begins with a high school degree. Get that first and then, explore your options. Good luck!

"Nobel Prize–winning economist James Heckman and colleague Stephen Cameron have found GED holders to be “statistically indistinguishable” from high school dropouts: they’re not significantly more likely to land a job or to have higher hourly wages. Other studies find that GED holders do slightly better than dropouts but still lousy compared with regular high school grads." 

(https://www.city-journal.org/html/geds-aren%E2%80%...

• 7 days ago

No, because proper education can get you a better job by having a diploma but since we have the coronavirus, not many kids have been coming to school. Most of them have been doing online school. 

• Vitani7 days agoReport

Like would if you can't keep a coding job? 

• Anonymous
    1 week ago