Promoted

Has your job ever made you cry?

I can’t count how many times I came home crying 

61 Answers

Relevance
  • SW-6
    Lv 6
    1 month ago

I came close one time, but managed to reign it in and keep going.  Made me realize how people can be S's at times, made me stronger and I was grateful for that. 

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

being an embalmer, I've cried a couple of times, working on an innocent baby, or young child--

• 1 month ago

Back when I was a manager at a homeless shelter, one of my clients died when a co-worker defied my order and discharged her. She was epileptic, and bipolar with a propensity for mood swings, and her meds had recently been stolen. I left directions that if she experience any mood swings to simply let her play it out, with the understanding that without her meds, it was beyond her control. I go home that night, and she of course had an episode. The worker on shift that night ignored my order and kicked her out. She ended up having to stay at her ex-boyfriend's house -- who was a drug user, and who she had come to our shelter to escape from -- and he got her high, and she had a drug-induced seizure in the bathtub and drowned.

When I got the call the next afternoon, I broke down crying. I'd had clients die before -- it's the nature of the beast when a lot of your job involves dealing with addicts -- but this was a completely avoidable death. She was two days away from having her meds replaced, and I'd been working with her to get her into rehab and on the road to regaining custody of her child. She was trying to turn her life around, she wanted something better for her and her child, and some lazy ******* shift worker kicked her out because he didn't care enough to bother with her. It's been sixteen years, and I still blame him for her death.