promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceOther - Business & Finance · 1 month ago

Is it going to help me land in my dream finance job?

I am an undergrad senior finance student, and I am graduating in May 2020. I applied for many finance intern and entry-level jobs in finance in the past and never got hired. So, I decided to apply for accounting intern positions. And I finally got a few interviews and still have one on the way as an accounting intern as well. Yesterday, I was given an offer as an accounts payable associate. But I don't know if this job would help me a long the way to land in my dream finance job. I want to be a financial analyst or an auditor. 

Please help

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Depends on what you mean by "financial analyst." The painful truth is that it is very hard to get into Investment Banking, for example, or even a top tier Accounting firm, if you don't go to a top university and are able to get a summer internship between junior and senior year.  

If you want to wok in the accounting and or finance department of a major (or not so major) corporation, getting a job in accounting is a good first step--even it it is as a A/P clerk.  As Ann points out, you can work you way up and apply for internal transfers and promotions.

One option you could look at would be getting a Masters degree in accounting. If you get into a top Macchiato's program, you'll probably get an internship with one of the top Accounting firms (Deloitte, PWC, KPMG, Ernst & Young, etc.).  You also may want to look at what you need to do to become a CPA (enough credits, passing the exams, etc.)

https://www.accounting.com/degrees/accounting/mast...

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago