promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Amir asked in Social SciencePsychology · 2 months ago

How do I get out of a (school) slump?

Grade 11. I'm usually a pretty high achieving, ambitious student. However, for whatever reason, I seem to have hit a major slump in my life, and I'm starting to see grades I never would have thought I would get. Although, ironic that I am using my valuable time to ask this question online, I cant seem to get any work complete, especially on time, or have the motivation to achieve greater? I'm not sure what is causing this sudden change, although it is extremely frustrating, not just to me, but others around me as well who want to see me succeed.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

Enn has an interesting idea. As a student, I found that it was hard to be highly motivated when I didn't know what I was aiming at. Maybe this is the problem.

I suggest however that you take a depression screening test online. KADS 6-Item is designed for screening teenagers.

I'll tell you a couple of simple tricks that I've found to be very useful. I used to have a terrible problem with procrastination, and these things helped me greatly.

This is useful for all kinds of things you don't feel like doing. If a task seems like it's too big, think of it as a series of tasks that you can take on one at a time, and start with something really, really easy. Homework - start by proofreading a paper or by previewing a chapter you're about to read, looking at headings, sub-headings, etc.

Short breaks are good but always watch the clock. Look for natural breaks, like after you finish a chapter or write an outline.

Staying on task - if you find yourself dawdling, wasting time while you're working, here's a simple fix. Decide how much time it will take to get a task done and do it in that time, watching the clock.