promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

If I get a master's in math and apply as a college professor, what salary should I expect to earn?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

To get a position as a professor, you generally need a doctorate degree.

You might be able to start as a lecturer with a masters.

It takes years to work up to associate professor.

And years more to become a professor and get tenure. The amount you make depends on the program, school, location and probably many other factors.Many times the job listing will say Commensurate with Qualifications and Experience.

You might become an adjunct Assistant Professor which is very part time and no guarantee of continuing. I made between $2000 and $3000 per class which can last from 8 to 12 weeks,

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

That depends on the geographic location you are in and the type of college.  I have a PhD and teach statistics (though I am not a Math major) online at a national university in the Midwest that only pays $2700 per class.  For an average of 3-4 classes at the Cal State at which I teach, I made just about $49,000.  At the California community college at which I teach 2-3 classes I actually made more than the Cal State at $57,000.  I was also a private contracted instructor at a nonprofit college that only paid $40 per hour, so after taxes about half went right into what I owed the IRS.  

I started my teaching career at a private for profit university with my Master's while I was pursuing my PhD, and that paid $40 an hour plus benefits.

• 1 month ago

PhD needed. A community college MIGHT consider someone with a master's degree, but don't count on earning much on a per-course contract. You'd earn more with math degree plus M.Ed to get state certification as a math teacher in public schools.

• 1 month ago