promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Taylor asked in PetsDogs · 1 month ago

Should I adopt?

I am a college student, 20, who has struggled with depression and anxiety since I was in middle school. I first got my emotional support dog when I was 17 and my parents didn't want me taking him to college with me, since he has been bonded to our other dog since he was a 7 weeks old. I'm struggling with my mental health without him and current PTSD symptoms are getting worse(it's likely I have it I'm just afraid to actually confirm it). In all honestly I agree I dont want to remove my ESA from his safe place and him be alone for the first time ever, its a huge change. I have found an adult rescue dog that fits the ESA roll to the T and she's close by, my mom says no but I really believe she could help me and it's a fresh start for both of us, because honestly my current ESA isn't much of one. Im just wondering if I should explain the situation and try to convince both parents. 

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

i think it would be a good idea . maybe you could get one that doesn’t have as much energy as others

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

An ESA is a pet - JUST a pet. Get a pet rock. Most rentals do not allow pets, especially dogs and cats. Unless you are independently wealthy and can buy a house, and not have to worry about renting for a while.

Source(s): Certified Paralegal, with 25+ years' experience & with Landlord & Tenant law experience.
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

My advice, as someone who can relate to your situation, is not to get a dog. They are a huge commitment emotionally, time-wise, financially, socially, and they put enormous constraints on your lifestyle. Yes, I think a pet of some kind can help your mental health - but consider something that is more independent (or has fewer needs) such as a cat, a reptile or a small furry.