promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Would I remain a California resident?

I've spent my entire life in California, and intend on attending a UC (ideally with in-state tuition). However, I may have to move to a different state for 1-2 years to live my parents. I would be working, and going to school in that other state during that time. Would I no longer qualify as a California resident?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

You will not remain a resident as you will move out of california. You are a resident for the place where you stay for 1 year, when you are trying to apply for residency. 

Source(s): I am a student at UCLA, and I am paying out of state fees.
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

i would ask immigration or your school about it

• 1 month ago

If you’re living with your parents in another state, you’re no longer a CA resident after 1 year. P

Your state of residence is where your snail mails go. 

• 1 month ago

True. You would lose California residency, eligibility for in-state tuition, as soon as you (and/or your parents) move out of the state, take any job out of the state.

To become eligible for in-state tuition subsidies in another state, you & your parents would have to reside, work, & pay state taxes in that state for a minimum of 1-2 years (requirements vary by state) before entering college.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

If you move out of state and don't return for a full year, in most cases you would not remain a CA resident. There are some ways around this, so you are going to have to research that through the UC system and even specifically the UC you want to attend.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago