promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Mikem M asked in EnvironmentGreen Living · 3 months ago

Solar Panel for Grid tie Inverter?

300W 500W or 1000W grid tie inverter.

I am interested in buying a 300w 500w or 1000W Grid tie inverter and since i am new to this, i need some help.My question is about the INPUT power (watts) of the solar panel. How do you choose one? Is a 100W / 200W or 250W solar panel still the same for the Grid tie inverter.If I choose a SP of 250W 18V or a SP of 100W 18V - Does the grid tie produce the same output, since all it cares is about the 18V DC input? I do not see any information about this anywhere. For a 1000W Grid tie, do I need an array of 1000W SP 18V ? I really cannot understand thisThe only information I found is that for a 1000 GTI, a 280W SP (30V) is too low.Thanks a lot.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 months ago
    Favorite Answer

If you want to do that yourself, just keep in mind that you'll be handling deadly voltages at every part of the system.

Ok, back to your question. You want to run a 1000W grid tie inverter. In order to deliver 1000W to the grid, such an inverter will need something like 1050 to 1100 Watts at its input. And usually (at least those that I have on my roof) the panels will be wired in series in order to give 100...300 Volts at the input of the inverter. At 18V input, you'd need to rate that cabling for 60 Amps - quite apart from the problem that, if you parallel the panels, the panels that get more sun will feed their power into the panels that get less sun instead of the inverter unless you also use decoupling diodes.

Putting all the panels in series may give you a different problem, though - the panels and their wiring will also be rated for a maximum voltage, which will limit the amount of panels you can safely put in series. So you'll have to read the manuals for the inverter and the panels carefully.