promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

How do credit cards work and what do I need to get one?

I'm a college student and live with my family right now but at the end of the year I'm moving away for the University I'm transferring too. I know I need credit for a bunch of stuff but don't know how it all works. Mind filling me it? Someone suggested a Discover card to me but wanted to ask around before I did anything. Thank you.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

Discover secured card or wait until you get a good full time job, Do not apply over & over again for cards. Discover secured approves almost everyone because there is no risk to them.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Pearl
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

you just use it and then get billed for it

• Shay
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

First - you need a job because you need a way to PAY BACK what you BORROW on a credit card.  Without a job to prove you can repay what you borrow, it will be hard to get a credit card.  Having at least a six month work history is best.

Next - you apply for a card and if the bank accepts your application, you will get a card with a CREDIT LIMIT.  That credit limit is the amount you can BORROW by using the card to pay for things you want or need.  

Then - when you get the bill for the credit you have spent - you pay the bill - ON TIME or you are off to a great start at destroying your credit score.  Paying the bill IN FULL is BEST but making at least minimum payments will keep you out of trouble.  Using less than 30% of your available credit will also help build your credit score.  Maxing out the card and making minimum payments will HURT your credit score.