promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Can deaf people hear themselves talk?

I’m a writer, and I thought it would be interesting and fun to write a character who is deaf! This character that I’m planning does not get the chance to learn proper sign language because the world is fantasy, so it doesn’t exist! So I was wondering if when my character talks, would he be able to hear himself in his head? When I talk and plug my ears i can hear it, but would it be the same for deaf people? (Or at least some because everyone is different)

Update:

Also, might I add, he had a head injury at the age of around ten, so he has heard before and was not born deaf.

Update 2:

(I’m sorry if this offends anyone... I didn’t mean this to be seen as offensive I just couldn’t find a direct answer to this particular question online. I don’t expect any of my writing to be published I just write for my own enjoyment and as a way to express my creativity and ideas. I’m also just curious as to weather or not it’s possible to hear/feel their own physical voice. Once again I apologize, and if you don’t like this than will happily rewrite my character, I just thought it fun to do)

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Lincoln, this is a dreadful place to begin research.

Of course you want to get it right. That means you need to talk to deaf people and their family, friends, and colleagues. Find forums where they gather online, and tell them you're a writer who wants to get his deaf character accurately. It's common for people to be quite helpful if you treat them like the experts they are.

Russ is right about many people not thinking in ways that equate to words. There was a huge discussion about this on Twitter, and it got especially interesting when writers and other "word people" chimed in. (While I *can* think in words when I'm mentally writing, I'm usually abstract. Many writers I know online, people with dozens of books, cannot think in words at all.)