promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Who does a deductible get paid to? And when? In a MVA.?

I was recently in a MVA (Motor vehicle accident) and my front end collided with another car ect... the other car fled the scene of the accident. After all that. I filed my claim and my repairs are currently just under 3,500. I have a 1,000 dollar deductible. From my understanding. My insurance is covering everything beyound my deductible. I'm only responsible for paying the 1,000. I'm a new driver as well. So I'm just wondering who my deductible is paid too and kinda how everything works. I think the deductible is paid to the shop that fixes my car directly if I'm right? Also does my insurance send me a check for the other bit passed my deductible or do they pay it directly to the shop? I have progressive car insurance and am using one of their network shops for repairs. Thanks. Any information is helpful for me to better understand what happens. Btw... damages weren't that bad at all. Dont see how it was 3,500 the hood just had dings and few dents and just needed a new bumper and grill and shock absorber (the foam padding I assume) that broke. 

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

You pay the shop.  Insurance pays the shop for the rest.  You never see a check.  Just the shop.

• Billy2 months agoReport

Thank you for your answers.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Edna
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

You don't  exactly PAY the deducible to anybody, and certainly not to the repair shop. Your insurance company deducts the deductible amount you agreed to when you bought your policy from the amount they're going to pay to repair your damage BEFORE they ever cut you a check.

Example: You have a $1000 deductible. It's going to cost a total of $3500 to repair your car. Your insurance company will cut you a check for $2500. ($3500, less your $1000 deductible).