promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Question for my pc gamers ?

I’m new to the pc gamer and world was wondering. When you are done playing do you power off your computer or put in sleep mode? What’s the difference in the two

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

First up, there's 4 power states for PC's...

* Fully On -- This is the state you'll typically have your computer in when using it & for a while when idle.

* Sleep Mode -- This keeps system running, but at a reduced power as it powers off the majority of components, keeping only the RAM, network (WiFi) card & processor powered.  This allows your PC to conserve power & perform some scheduled background stuff.  It does take a few seconds for your system to wake up (& return to a fully on state).

* Hibernation -- This places your system in a "deep sleep", as Windows offloads the contents of your system's RAM to your storage drive (generally HDD) & raises a special flag BEFORE turning the system completely off.  This saves powers while off & starts up faster as Windows sees the flag & reloads the special file on your storage drive BACK to RAM.  It takes longer than Sleep to "wake up", but it's shorter than a fully off state & allows you to pick up exactly where you left off (before hibernation).

* Fully Off -- This state is triggered when you shut down your computer.  Nothing is held on the storage drive, so it takes the longest time to start up.  HOWEVER, you system is starting completely fresh or as a "clean slate".

Personally, leave my laptop running with the following power settings...

* Display turns off after 10 minutes of idling (5 minutes when on battery)

* Laptop falls sleep after 2 hours of idling (15 minutes when on battery)

* Laptop hibernates after 3 hours of idling (or drops under 7% battery level)