Does Graduating College give you a degree of some sort?

I've never done college before and I'm looking to start with either 2d or 3d animation. Apparently graduation requires 30 credits. The path i'm choosing though might not be entirely conventional though. The total ammount of classes i want to take, with all of their pre-requisites included, matches 30 credits exactly.

Do I get a degree in something if I graduate with these 30 credits? They're all art based classes, so I'm not taking any math or english or anything like that, only what's necessary to my goal. I'm not necessarily looking for a degree, just to get the training in the field I like.

I've included the roadmap i've made of all the necessary classes and their pre-reqs I need. GRC-375 is the 3d animation  course, which leaves me at 24 credits, but If I branch out and do the 2D animation course at GRC 356, that gets me up to 30. (possibly 33, if GRC 280 is necessary. It's listed as a pre-req for GRC 356, but no information is available on the website. Either way, 30 credits meets graduating standards.)TLDR; If I 'graduate' with all the credits from these classes, will I get a degree of some sort? Or does a degree require specific credits in specific areas, such as math and english as well?

Attachment image

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 week ago

For a bachelor's degree from a university, expect to need 120-128 credit hours, including fulfilling all general education coursework, and sufficient hours in your major field of study. If this program is offered by other than an accredited 4-year university, no degree. You might get some sort of "certificate" of varying reputation among prospective employers.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 week ago

What "college" is this? It should spell out its degree programs and how many credits are required to graduate with various degrees.