promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Do you think I’m a bad driver because of an accident ?

I’m 21 but I’ve only been driving for around 6 months and already got into my first accident. It wasn’t bad, no one was hurt, it was just that I bumped someone else siding trying to merge, I didn’t see him in my mirror. But anyway does that make me a bad driver. When I got my license I was confident but not anymore. I told my family that I don’t really want to drive and I was thinking taking an Uber to work my brother said I need to relax and that accidents happens that doesn’t make me a bad driver. But he’s never been in an accident and he’s been driving for like 8 years so he doesn’t understand. 

Have you ever been in an accident? And how many?

15 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

Tell your brother to go suck an egg. You're suppose to look over your shoulder before chaning lanes. Don't depend upon the mirror. There's a "blind spot". LOOK! Everyone has accidents. Everyone. Just don't do it so often that people start calling you Wreck. Now, go get me a double cheeseburger with fries.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

It makes you an *inexperienced* driver, but accidents can happen to anyone, regardless of how long they have been driving for.  All it takes is a split second where you, the other driver, or both are distracted, zone out, etc.

Someone's first wreck usually takes a little while to recover from - it's normal to be a bit freaked out about driving - but you should get back in the saddle as soon as you can - and learn something from it.

Most cars have terrible visibility - and huge blind spots.  You can overcome this with some simple adjustments and accessories.  Watch some youtube videos on how to properly adjust your rear view and side view mirrors - and get some of the little stick on fish-eye lens mirrors.