promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Can someone help me with my driving skills?

I have very poor driving skills. I got my license at 24, and i began driving my own car at age 28.

I get nervous when there's a car behind me when i'm trying to make a left or right turn, especially out of a parking lot, and when a car is behind me, I don't come to a complete stop at a stop sign like I should.

Today, I pulled out in front of a speeding car (didn't know he was speeding, just saw a huge gap in between cars, so I thought why not) and I ended up getting into a fight with a person that almost hit me. He ended up throwing a bottle of water at my car. But it could have been worse. I could have gotten a ticket, a damaged car (from vandalism) and increased insurance rates. Plus I'd feel stupid as I do now. 

Don't damn the guy, as he did the right thing. I was an idiot driver, and that's what happens.

Can you guys give me some advice on how to not be nervous when driving under pressure from other vehicles, that way I can't get into these kinds of troubles?

This is the (at least) second time I have pulled in front of moving vehicles. It's because of the pressure from vehicles behind me.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Mystic
    Lv 5
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, you got your license. That is a good sign and something to be proud of. You passed the driving exam and were deemed ok enough to be on the road!

Now, there are DEFINITELY some huge issues with your driving, especially since you've had your license at least 4 years now.

The pulling out in front of cars is a big hazard. It is a great way to get into an accident. If the other car is travelling fast and hits the driver's side (aka T-bones you), there is a good chance you may not survive the crash or at least will suffer serious injury. Even normal highway speeds can be fatal.