promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceStandards & Testing · 2 months ago

could i still graduate high school if i were to fail the SATS?

i’m a sophomore in high school right now. i have gotten all straight a’s so far (except for english) and i make sure i do all of my assignments and do them well. however, earlier in the school year, i took the psats and completely failed them. it had things i’ve never learned and some things i didn’t know even existed. i know the psats don’t count so i wasn’t worried about that but i was worried about the actual sats. if i fail them will i not be able to graduate high school? or if i do fail them will i still able to graduate? i also don’t care about going to college if my sat score would affect that - i don’t want to go to college at all.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 weeks ago

My suggestion to you is this;   screw taking SAT.  Do two years at Community College...get a 4.0 GPA.  Transfer to MIT.  Done.  No SAT needed.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

Yes.  PSAT, SAT, ACT, and all the rest of those tests have absolutely nothing to do with high school graduation requirements.  They are tests used in college admissions.  

If you really don't understand all of this, please meet with your guidance counselor.  If you want to go to college, you will probably need to take either the SAT or ACT.  

As an aside, you don't pass or fail these tests.  You simply get a score based on the number of correct and incorrect answers.  

• drip
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

I have never heard of a high school that requires a student take the SAT to graduate. You don’t pass or fail the SAT, you get a score.  The SAT is taken to apply to universities. Most, but not all universities  require a SAT or ACT to apply.    It has nothing to do with high school.