promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

i'm 17, graduated from high school, live in america, and want to study abroad in germany. where do i go starting from blank?

hi there. i turn 17 come the 23rd of this month, and i graduated from highschool in october of last year with a GPA of about 3.5. could be better, yeah, but i'm not trying to get into harvard or anything.

i currently live in america and have been heavily considering moving in with my father, who works overseas a lot, to germany, when he could land a job there. well, that's taking a lot longer than expected, so i decided why not kill two birds with one stone and try studying abroad?

thing is, i have no clue where to start. i think i'd want to get my degree in something like game design (preferably somewhere where they also teach me 3D modeling and animation) or, if that doesn't work, advertising. this school in particular sounds perfect: http://www.btk-fh.de/en/program/game-design-bachel... (though this school https://www.bib.de/footermenu/en.html has also caught my eye)

so, where do i begin? i'd like to know absolutely everything i'd need. i know absolutely nothing about applying for colleges, much less universities in germany. (would've liked to learn how to do that in school rather than complex math formulas i'd never use...)

once i'm done with school, i'd like to also stay in germany to live there. it seems much better than america, and i have some friends in germany too :) thank you!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

Do some research and pick several schools you want to attend and apply to them. Certainly you understand this will all be taught in german so if you are not fluent, start working on that "yesterday". An online search for specifics should be enough to get you started.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago