promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelUnited StatesLos Angeles · 2 months ago

How do I address my mom’s fears of the big city?

I’m a 23-year-old female college student. I’m still in the phase of growing up and gaining my independence. I’ve grown up with overprotective parents, especially my mom. I’ve been able to travel within my local region and I live in a suburb of Los Angeles. I thing I have a difficult time with is traveling into the city of Los Angeles.

I grew up sheltered in a suburb away from the city. My mom is more so sheltered than I am. On the news she constantly hears about the homelessness problem and crime in Los Angeles. My mom has a very negative image of the city in her mind. There is just a lot more going on in Los Angeles and there are a lot more places that I can go to. There is just a lot more to do in Los Angeles than in the suburb region I reside in.

How do I reduce her anxiety? She perceives the city as a dangerous place. It’s understandable because of the large population and all the news stories about the crime. She is not okay with me going into the city. I need to convince her that I’m going to be safe. I need to a way to present the city of Los Angeles in a positive light. 

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

LA is a scary city.  I traveled there for business a few years ago, when I got up in the AM and turned on the morning news I discover that 7 people were shot/killed the night before.  On the news in LA you routinely see car chases on the news.

You don't see that stuff anywhere else in the USA, even in NYC.

I've lived in several major US cities and LA is in a class by itself.  

You mother lives near one of America's scariest cities.  Tell her to get the bleep out of there.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago