What's the age a child can change their name without parental consent?

So I was looking up laws on name changing in Connecticut and I'm not really finding what I'm looking for.

9 Answers

  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

    It’s generally 18.

  • 1 month ago

    18... 18... 18.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago


    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Age 18 generally

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

    When they are an adult

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Ihategrowingup. You do not know as much as you think you do, or you are just here spouting off at the mouth.

    The law in Connecticut is anybody over the age of 18 can petition the court for a legal name change.

    Not 21 as you are claiming here. The law is 18. You do not have to like it, you do not have to accept it, but the age is 18.

    Instead of coming here with absolutely no idea what you are talking about, and claiming that you do. I suggest you Google what is the legal age to change your name in the United States. You will be amazed what you will read about Connecticut law regarding the legal age to change a name.

    So stop playing lawyer, you are no good at it.

    The age is 18 (accept it or not-I really do not care)

  • 1 month ago

    Twenty-one, when they no longer are minors.

    With parental consent probably younger, but I don't know how.

    EDIT to all the fools here who need a good a*s whipping from me: Even if the age to change your name is less than 21 you are still a minor under that age. 

    Age at which someone may have a gun legally transferred to him or her

    CGS § 29-34(b)


    Age at which someone can obtain an eligibility certificate to possess a handgun

    CGS § 29-36f


    Age at which someone may purchase and consume alcoholic beverages

    CGS § 30-1


    Age at which someone may obtain a gun permit

    CGS 29-28(b)(10)


    Age at which someone may become a police officer

    Liquor Control Act provisions unless another definition is specified

    (CGS § 30-1(12))

    Any person under age 21

    Department of Consumer Protection's refusal of permits to sell alcoholic liquor

    (CGS § 30-45)

    A person who is a minor, as defined in (1) CGS § 1-1d or (2) CGS § 30-1 (i.e., a person under age 21)

    Crime of obscenity as to minors

    (CGS §§ 53a-193(2)(A) & 53a-196)

    Any person under age 17

    Crimes of employing or promoting a minor in an obscene performance

    (CGS §§ 53a-193(2)(A), 53a-196a, & 53a-196b

    Any person under age 16

    Notice on this list the most common age? It's not the magical one-eight.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    I suspect it would be 18.  Under age 18 you are considered a minor and can't legally enter into any contracts.

    • Under 21. MINOR in possession, firearm possession by MINOR, all of which are literal CT laws and apply to people under age 21, not 18.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Eighteen, which is the age of majority.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.