Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceOther - Education · 3 weeks ago

Is this person toxic to me?

My uncle told me that I'm lazy,have no skills and ambition and not good at anything.

He even gave me a piece of paper and told me to draw something when i didnt want to.

Update:

He meets me just once a year.He doesn't even know me well.I think I'm doing well in school.My grades are good and i participate in school events.I read books and write poems.I'm into sports as well.The teachers have a lot of good things to say.

Update 2:

When i give him this explanation he just blindly rejects it and goes on his rant about how I'm not good at anything.Of course I'm not perfect i have my flaws.He has even ridiculed me in front of everyone for these flaws.

Update 3:

For example me using my iPad frequently.He just assumes that I'm only playing games while that's not true i use it mostly for reading e books.But he just dismisses my explanation.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Laurie
    Lv 7
    3 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer

He is probably toxic - if he is mistaken. If he is correct, he is just honest. 

Always remember that, short of physical force or restraint, nobody can make you do — anything. 

• Login to reply the answers
  • 3 weeks ago

He may be accurate with his impression, but definitely not tactful or inspiring. You may want to ask him how you can improve yourself, and if he’s nasty toward you in his response, then he’s simply a bully, and you should try to steer clear of him.

• 3 weeks ago

"Toxic" ONLY if repeated harassment and everything is totally false. Is your uncle calling you out because you really ARE lazy, lack skills, education, ambition, or any effort? Where does the truth lie? What's really going on here?

• 3 weeks ago