Rejecting a job offer whilst waiting for a better one?

I graduated last year and since my summer internship ended four months ago, I have been vigorously job hunting. Last week I was in the fortunate position of landing 4 job interviews. They all went relatively well, although I've since had one rejection but one job offer!

This offer was through a recruitment agency and the agent is keen for me to make a decision ASAP. But the only problem is I'm waiting on feedback from a better job. Don't get me wrong this job is respectable, but the other one would allow me to get into the broadcasting industry which is a very competitive field.

I've been told I need to make a decision by EOP Monday but I won't hear from the other position until later in the week. I feel my only option is to reject it and take a gamble. But how can I respectfully decline the offer without angering the recruiter? I feel this is something I need to do for my future ambitions.

Update:

Update: 

I emailed the other company on Monday asking them when I could expect feedback and that I had another offer with the deadline of today. The recruiter replied saying they are waiting to hear back from the manager, within an hour I had a job offer! I definitely think telling them about my other offer helped to secure my position.As for the other job offer and recruitment consultant, I emailed to tell him I have decided to decline the offer. No response. 

6 Answers

Relevance
  • DEBS
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer

The recruiter may have put a false deadline on this to pressure you into accepting.  They get paid on commission so need sales/close deals.  It's the life they've chosen.