promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthOther - Health · 2 months ago

What are the risks I take by smoking for a year and then quitting?

I’m a soldier stationed in South Korea. Quite a few people here take frequent smoke breaks while on duty to help decompress from all the bs that goes on here. Also doesn’t help that our fun activities are mostly limited drinking, smoking and whatever small stuff is in the Ville. I’m going to be here for a year and plan to smoke only while I’m in Korea to help pass the time and then quit when I PCS somewhere else. What risks do I take by smoking for a year and then quitting?

Please no preachy answers about how I shouldn’t have started in the first place. I know it’s not healthy for me. 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Visit your base medical office and show the doctor your question.  They can consult your records and discuss what you can expect to occur by following this course of action.  They can also discuss ways to stop smoking once you PCS somewhere else.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

You would have to be extremely determined to be able to quit and never smoke again after only 1 year!

• 2 months ago

It is doubtful you will able to quit smoking if you continue to smoke for a year. I live in Houston, Texas, the home of University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center. Inhalation Toxicologists at the Cancer Center says it will take 3 years of non-smoking to return your lungs to the condition when you began to smoke. Not all news is bad! The scientists say you can still maintain a tobacco habit with just 10 cigarettes per day. You can decide and hopefully reduce the amount of 10 cigarettes a day to a X-number of cigarettes.

harrald

• Jerry
    Lv 7
    2 months ago