Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsDrawing & Illustration · 1 month ago

Artwork resold without permission?

So, I have been working with this startup company. (at the time of signing up for this job, I was a sophomore in college. I'm currently taking a gap year tho) I emailed them asking if they had any openings as a concept artist. And luckily they did! Got accepted for the job and started making concept art for their visual novel game, as well as in-game art that I did not sign up for. In the beginning the lady that hired me told me that we would be working on a profit sharing model because their company did not have a budget set. I DID agree to that at first, being the unexperienced college student thirsty for something to get my career going. But after creating artwork for them for about half a year, I began to have doubts. My family and friends would always warn me about getting cheated out of my work and to be careful with these people, but I kept going. Finally in December, I decided that I would "silently quit" because I was scared of telling them that this was way too much work for no pay. (I realize now that I should have just been more up front, it would have been way more professional) But now it is Jan 24th. I follow them on Instagram through my side account, and they have been making stickers of the artwork that I created without giving me any compensation!! I don't know if they were right to do that, or whether I should email them to GIVE ME MY MONEY. Please help 

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Speed
    Lv 7
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm not a lawyer, but I'm reasonably certain that your employer owns your work product, not you. This also means they can make stickers or video games or giant balloons of your work and sell them.