promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous

Can not living where you are applying for jobs impact you? ?

I’ve been doing a nation wide search for employment in my field. I am currently employed but the pay is disgraceful. I have a Masters Degree. 

With my nationwide search I’m finding the employee seems hesitant to hire m due to being so far from where I’m applying. One company in Chicago offered me a job on a Friday and needed me there by Monday. I live in Atlanta and own a home. There was no way I could get out to Chicago in 2 days. 

Would I be better off moving to the state/city I want to work in and quit my job? Does your location impact your chance of getting work? 

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

In California a lot if Tech guys are moving out of state and it surely doesnt seem to effect them.

They've been hired across the nation without any hesitation. 

They had houses, and families too

Have you thought about selling your house. That would put you a step closer to moving forward.

Any company that expects you to be their in 2 days is kinda impractical  and I wouldnt want to work for them.

Surely these companies know you want to relocate...

Good luck

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

Absolutely.  I lived in a city wear one question nearly EVERY employer asked was "Are you from the area?'  Thay all wanted someone who's familiar with the area and the way of doing business thier.  

It's important for some jobs much more then others.  If your applying for a hotel concierge, for instence, you wood need to be familiar with the local area to help guests with the nearest gas stations, the best restaurants and local attractions, etc.