promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Should i be worried about my belly button piercing?

Ive had my belly button pierced for about 2 weeks. Sometimes i have a white discharge that comes out and the top hole is pretty red, tender and swollen. However I’m a police officer and my pants and belt sit right on the piercing and rub it constantly. Could that be what’s causing the irritation and inflammation or should i be concerned with infection?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Laura
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

Your piercing is never going to heal if your pants are constantly irritating it.  Get some gauze pads and large bandages, use the gauze to protect the piercing and give some cushion and the bandage to cover it and hold it in place.  This will keep your pants from constantly irritating your piercing. 

The white discharge is normal.  This is called lymph, and is dead white blood cells and plasma.  Its a sign that your body is healing your piercing.  The lymph doesn't concern me but the swelling and redness does.  You need to protect your piercing from getting irritated from your work uniform.  If you can't protect it with gauze and a bandage every day you should remove the piercing and let it close up.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

So of course the length of time that a piercing stays irritated varies widely from person to person. However if the piercing is frequently being pulled and pushed around it's going to extend that period of time by a lot, and it does put you at a greater risk of infection. The white discharge that you mention does worry me a little bit. make sure that you're washing it with saline spray multiple times every single day. Belly buttons naturally carry a lot of bacteria in them, so you should be keeping the inside of it as clean as you can as well. If you don't have one or aren't sure what saline spray to use, this one is probably the most popular among professional piercers. https://amzn.to/2us5oVA