Anonymous

Disability question please help?

I am writing on behalf of my brother.

He has severe psychiatric problems as well as physical problems (liver failure and had a stroke in the past- he is an alcoholic)

So he got denied disability. His psychologist gave him a disability lawyer to contact who told my brother he must not have worked for 5 months before he can appeal again. He took a holiday job for a Halloween store part time in October and was paid $10/hour. He cannot handle work. He barely lasted that job.

my question is, what can he do in the meantime ? He is definitely disabled, the only reason he was denied was that they couldn’t get in touch with his psychiatric team, they said.

So they say he can’t work yet he needs money to live. I don’t know what to do I am only a nurse and don’t make enough money to support him also.

Please help any ideas? Thank you

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    4 weeks ago

Sorry for my lack of sympathy, but why should we pay him to sit around and continue to drink?  He can get food from a food pantry or soup kitchen and stay in a shelter while he gets himself clean.    

• Login to reply the answers
  • Judith
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

When a claim is denied the notice tells a person they have 60 days in which to appeal the decision.  So why didn't he do what the notice told him to do - or didn't he bother to read it?  If a person fails to file a timely appeal then they have no option but to file a new claim.  There is NO RULE whatsoever that a person must wait to file a new claim.  He wants to refile after the 60 day appeal period has passed then he can refile.