I am a college freshman with little experience. Can I include some high level high school achievements on a job resume?

I'm a college freshman, and I'm applying for a job, (an on campus summer job at my university) however, I have no work or internship experience, and my only extracurricular activity is secretary of one club. Could I include some of my more unique high school accomplishments, such as mentioning some of my high school volunteer work, or that I held a state leadership position in a student led organization? I've seen some websites say that it is okay to use relevant high school experience up until your sophomore year of college, but others say that you shouldn't mention anything from high school unless its something truly exceptional. What would be appropriate/relevant? Should I just rely on my skills and current leadership position, or can I use some of these previous accomplishments so my resume doesn't look completely empty? 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    3 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes.

But don't list every piddly thing such as you volunteered for four hours washing dogs at the Humane Society in August of 2018.  

Choose things that you did on an ongoing basis or that taught you valuable skills or helped you mature.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Kyle
    Lv 7
    3 weeks ago

most colleges have job fairs or resources to help students with getting jobs.  talk to a counselor or adviser for more help.  if you have a major declared, you really should be looking at internships within your field.  some industries require experience and education for entry level positions.  internships will come in handy for experience you can put on your resume for when you graduate.

some fields you can only get intern jobs later in your college career.  do research now and plan ahead so when it comes time to apply for intern jobs, you'll be ready to do so.  colleges may also have job fairs as well.  again, ask a counselor for more info.