Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceTaxesUnited States · 1 month ago

Tax deduction for food delivery? Help! ?

I am a college student and have picked up a part time job for the first time, so this will be my first time filing taxes and I have run into some confusion. I am a pizza delivery driver for Papa John’s, and I have been told that I could be reimbursed for my mileage as part of my tax return. I tried filing my taxes on TurboTax, and after entering my information I received a $1,200 deduction (after subtracting my mileage reimbursement of $0.15 per mile from PJ), however my actual tax ‘return’ still says only $400 (all that I paid in to federal and state taxes). I’m new to this so it’s a little confusing; is it not possible for me to be reimbursed any further? Thanks for any advice!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Papa John's should reimburse you for mileage in your vehicle to deliver product for them. The IRS standard rate for 2019 was 58.5 cents a mile..Deduct that from your wages to determine how much you are really being paid.. It can't be deducted on your tax return at all.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

What you were told was very wrong. It was never possible to get a reimbursement on your taxes. It used to possible to get a deduction, but even that is not possible anymore, because Congress changed the law.

• Judy
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

No, sorry. Even under the old tax rules, you would have had to itemize, and could not have. They were mistaken - or lied. No, you don't get reimbursed any more.

• Eva
    Lv 7
    1 month ago