Major Life Decision Advice About Degrees and Law School?

Summary:

Should I take two more years of school to achieve a Master's I probably won't use but enjoy, then go to law school? Or should I just aim to graduate with a Bachelor's and enjoy 1 year of life, work(maybe), and study for the LSAT?

Does a Master's look better on Law School applications?

Backstory:

I graduated with my Associate in Arts Degree and my High School Diploma at the same time. However, for the program of English Education, I wasn't told I needed an Education course (wasn't able to take it at the community college anyways) so I took a year of advanced English "elective" courses and a minor in Poli Sci for my First Year. The program, however, is rigid in class sequence so I can't accelerate even if I wanted to.  *Here are my two possibilities (any advice, personal life lessons, or opinions/criticism?): 1) I could graduate in Spring 2024 with a Master's Degree in English Secondary Education. Maybe avoid debt since Bright Futures would cover half the expenses and financial aid the rest. Then Fall 2024 enroll in law school within the same university (Florida State University). Little time to study for LSAT though. 2) Graduate Fall 2021 with a basic Bachelor's in English, since I currently have 90 credits (not counting this semester). No debt.Take a gap year by moving back with my parents or my fiancé and study for the LSAT (does it impact amount of scholarship money?). However, not sure how to utilize my degree into a possible job. Then enroll in FSU Law. 

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago

i would just do what you want to do the most

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    4 weeks ago