Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceTaxesUnited States · 1 month ago

Income tax returns ?

I started my new job at the end of August 2019 , recurved my first pay check mid September so I’ve been working for about 5 months. Will I still receive an income tax return even though I only worked 5 months this year from my new job? 

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

It does not matter how many months you worked. If you made more than $600 or if they withheld any taxes, they have to send you a W-2. You are only required to file a tax return if you made more than $12,200 (total taxable income) but if they withheld taxes, you have to file to get a tax refund.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

Yes, you will receive a W-2 from your employer.

• 1 month ago

You will have to file an income tax return.

• 1 month ago

You might. It's not based on the amount of time you worked. It's based on the amount of money you made and the amount that was withheld from your paychecks. A lot of the time, a person who worked only a few months actually gets more from their tax return than someone who worked all year.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

You do not receive an income tax return, you FILE one.

If you are entitled to a REFUND of tax withheld from your pay, you have to file a RETURN to claim it. There is no way for anyone here to know, with the little information you provided, if you will have a refund coming or not.

• Pearl
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

you need to ask a tax place or your job about it

• Shay
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

You don't receive a tax return.  You file a tax return.

Your employer will send you a W-2 form to show your income from last year.

You use that W-2 and any other tax related forms you might have to fill out a tax return.  Then you file the tax return with the IRS.