promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Drum Brake issues?

So I posted earlier about wobbling from my drum when braking. I found the culprit to be this cylinder/gasket? Not sure what it's called, I'm horrible with the terminology.

I pushed it back in and the wobble went away, but it still leaks some brake fluid and doesn't have as tight a seal as the other side.

Is this something I can repair myself for cheap? Or would it be better to take it to a shop. I usually do my own work, but this is my first time with drums.

What would the price/time range be if I did it myself?

Attachment image

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

What is in the picture is the SLAVE cylinder.  If one is bad, the other is close behind so you do both.  It is a fussy job as you need a cylinder hone and hone the cylinder and a rebuild kit.  When you don't know what you are doing and you are in a rush, it is better to let a shop take care of it.  Both cleaner, faster and done right.  Sometimes they have to toss the wheel cylinder when it is worn too bad.  So, in that case they would buy a complete slave cylinder with all new components.

This, however was NOT causing wheel wobble.

More than likely the bearing was not tightened down correctly.  The bearing holds on the wheel drum.(depending on MAKE AND YEAR OF CAR).  In some other makes perhaps the drum is not sitting on axle flange totally flat...which would give you a wobble.

What ever the price you have to have brakes. There is no choice there.

• ...Show all comments
    • Anthony2 months agoReport

I tested it today and yes, I feel it very strong in the hand brake. I checked front rotors and they aren't warped, which is as expected. I noticed if I take of the drum there is a little wobble if I lay it flat. But only by 1 or2 millimeters, I don't know if that's big enough to affect the car

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago