promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Pre-med: Should I do research or find a job?

Hello!

So I am a pre-med student (currently in my sophomore year) and have a part-time job as an academic tutor. I tutor chemistry, psychology, and nutrition...so I am hoping that will look good as well.

However, I am applying to a summer research project and already had my employers submit their letters of recommendation. As I am looking through the requirements...it says that I am now allowed to take any classes during the research period (the whole summer). 

I took a medical scribe training course and was hoping to become certified to be a scribe this summer for shadow hours and such. I also just got an email with a summer job application to be a pre-health advisor (which would build leadership experience).

Is research THAT important for medical school? Or would they prefer to see someone as a scribe/leader?

The reason I am so confused is because I am supposed to apply to medical school next summer...so I feel like this is the only summer where I can actually get stuff done. 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

I shudder to think of a rising junior as a "pre-health" advisor when you have so little knowledge yourself (not because of your personal qualifications; just because you're only just working your way through the pre-health process yourself).