I am stuck. What do I do?

So I'm a 23 year old, living in a country as an expat. I don't have a job (because no one wants to give me a job as they've to get me a permit), I cannot study because my father cannot afford to make me study, I just have a month or two remaining before I have to leave the country as my visa expires. Mind you, I've been staying in this country for 15 years but I had to get a visa a month ago in order to stay in my own country 😭 My boyfriend is here, my best friends are here, my dogs are here! I don't want to leave this country to go anywhere else. I cannot get citizenship in this country because I am above 18 so I've to work for at least 3 years with a permit to become a citizen. I just have no idea what to do. I feel betrayed. My father brought our family to this country and he didn't even think about our future. I am stuck. What am i supposed to do??

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Foofa
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

You can take up your father's poor planning with him. It would certainly help to know what country you're in. But in almost every country there's a mechanism for a citizen to sponsor a foreign spouse. So if your boyfriend is as tearful as you are over this maybe he'd be willing to marry and sponsor you. Mind you 23 is a wee bit young to marry. But people have made that work in the long run so it could be worth considering.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

You have known for years that you are living in a foreign country on a temporary basis. You have to return to your own country. The one you are in is not "yours." Perhaps you can take your dogs with you. You're going home, so have your father use his earnings from his long employment abroad to set you up back home in your own country.