xboxNeRd asked in SportsCycling · 4 weeks ago

Tips for 800+ mile cycle?

Hello, 

I am planning on cycling over 800 miles over 2 weeks next year for charity. I'm rather new to cycling and know this will be a challenge. 

I will be riding from Southern France to Southern Spain. 

I was just looking for tips from people who have done something similar before? What sort of bike should I be using? 

Any tips on training for it? 

Any other tips will be helpful...

Thank You

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

Question incomplete.  Just for sake of argument, let's say this 800+ mile trip is all on paved roads.  The big question is...will you be staying in motels overnight or is this a trip camping out overnights?  Hell-of-a-difference in bikes.  For a supported trip where a van or car meets up with you in the evening, you'll need a good 'entry level' road bike.  Look for Shimano Sora components with a compact (34/50) crankset & at least an 11 - 32 or possibly 11 - 34, nine speed cassette (rear cog).  

If you'll be carrying everything on the bike (sleeping bag, tent, etc.) you need a 'touring bike'.  They're not light or fast.  But they're built tough to carry extra weight.  

As far as training goes, my brother (Old Hippie) left you plenty of good advice.  The most important in my opinion, go practice climbing hills!  If you can conquer the hills, the rest should be a piece of cake.  

• Login to reply the answers
  • 4 weeks ago

Ride lots. By that I mean work up to riding 3-4 weekdays per week of 25-30 miles each day/evening, plus at least one longer 50-70 mile ride each weekend. Training miles should be at least double the event miles, or in your case 1600 miles. You can survive the ride with less but it won't be fun.

• Jon
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

That is silly. Going from doing little or no cycling to doing 800 miles in 14 days is asking for serious knee damage. 

No reputable charity should be urging people to do this.

• xboxNeRd4 weeks agoReport