Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceFinancial Aid · 11 months ago

Will buying a car effect how much financial aid I will receive?

So I am a first year college student and my mom is my main provider and her yearly income is pretty low. When I filed out my fafsa, I only provided her information and not my dads since they're separated. Recently my mom bought a car with the money she's been saving for a few years plus the money my grandparents gifted her. She made a $20,000 down payment to reduce the monthly bill; we received a letter saying that any transaction of $10,000 or more will be reported to the IRS. I am concerned if that will affect how much financial aid I will receive. I did not know she did this until I got the letter however, she explained to me why paid so much for down payment. I am really worried if it will jeopardize my financial aid when I really need it. Can someone give me feedback on this?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • nancy
    Lv 7
    11 months ago
    Favorite Answer