Income tax and teenager getting a job?

Please bear with me on this. I just repatriated. I have not lived here in the USA in a very long time. I filed a tax return every year from abroad, but it was more of a formality because my income was 105K a year and the IRS allowed me to exempt up to 120K as forgien earned income.

I am a software developer and I historically am not very good with filling out forms. I just followed the instructions from the IRS. I called them once with questions, and the person on the phone was amazing. She helped me though it the first time, then after that it was cake. 

I also completed all the immigration forms for my wife and son myself.  Now I am pretty good at filling out forms.I brought my wife and my "son" whom I am adopting. He is 15, and wants to get a job at Von’s where he can bag groceries. How will the income tax work? I will be claiming him on my taxes because when I go back to work, I will be making a middle-class income. According to the IRS the minimum income to pay taxes is 12,000. He will not make anything close to that working part time in the summer for petty pocket money and social interaction. Really, he is getting a job for something to do. He will spend it all socializing with his mates and playing games on steam.If you have a child who works part time, how did you file your taxes?

Update:

Yes, I am a US Citizen, and a Veteran, just in case you wanted to know.

Update 2:

He has a green card. His current status immigration status is IR2 :"son or daughter of a US citizen"..Yes, I know it seems strange that he was allowed to immigrate pending the adoption.  The story is too long to get into.

Update 3:

He has a green card and an SSN.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

He files his own return and likely gets all withheld income taxes back because he won't make enough to owe. You can still claim him, his income in no way affects your taxes.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago