Connor asked in PetsDogs · 1 month ago

Dog question and moving out. ?

I’m 19 years old turning 20 this year, and I still live with my parents. I am planning on moving out this year, I graduated high school in 2019, and I took a gap year and now I’m starting college in the fall. NOW here comes my biggest question, I have a dog, I bought this dog when I was 14, I trained her, and she has been with me since. 

We have 3 other dogs and we are a family of 6, she gets along with everyone, my question is when I move out, would it be bad to take her with me? Or would it be better for her to stay with my family and I come visit? 

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

In my honest opinion, what's best overall for the dog is to stay where she is. Dogs LOVE and thrive on routine. You are young and experiencing college life for the first time in your life. You will have to study, A LOT. You will want to take breaks, maybe party with some friends, have people over, go out, have a life, and you can't do this with an older dog locked into a routine. For example, she's used to being fed at 7am on the dot. You have a 7:20am class clear across campus. Then she gets play time right after. You will not be there. Dinner is promptly at 6pm. for her, always has been. You have a HUGE test to study for and are stuck in the library because the next bus doesn't come until 7pm. I'm just giving you examples of what you will face with college life and a dog at the same time, and college changes every year; you won't have the same time table for classes.

However, if you believe it's worth a shot, try it and see if you can't work out something, but if she's showing signs of depression and it's simply too much for YOU to do as a new college student, take her back to your family, if you can. If you are moving 1000 miles away, you have to decide now or never. I would love nothing more to say, yes, take her, but you have to do what's right for her.

• Login to reply the answers