Picking a wedding date dilemma. Advice please!?

My fiance and I finally found our dream venue. However, the scheduling of the wedding is becoming crazy. I'm a teacher so I'm leaning towards the months of April, May, June, or July to get married that way we can take our honeymoon in July or August and I won't have to worry about requesting time off from work. (A Saturday could be affordable in January or Feb but I would feel guilty taking time off for the honeymoon)

Sat's are nearly double the price for April, May, June or July so they are currently out of our budget. Friday's and Sundays are reasonable. The church I am affiliated has a rather strict wedding schedule. Friday's weddings are only 4pm or 5pm. However, this poses a problem because our venue is approximately 40 minutes away and the curfew for the venue is 11pm. Therefore only a 4pm church would work and there wouldn't be much time before the reception for pictures. After asking many for input (which I probably shouldn't have) the more desired day seems to be Friday. However with needing the church to begin at 4pm and Friday traffic I'm not sure how many would be able to leave work early enough or take off to attend the church. 

Now for a Sunday wedding  many guests seemed to be very opposed to the idea. The earliest church on a Sunday is at 2pm so the earliest the reception could end would be 9pm. How do you feel about this? Would you try to save extra money for a Saturday? Or pick Friday or Sunday? 

19 Answers

Relevance
  • Foofa
    Lv 7
    2 days ago

Pick a Saturday in July then leave straight after for the honeymoon.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 6 days ago

I would go for the Saturday since most people can't be there at 4:00 on a Friday due to work.

• 6 days ago

You can get married during Christmas Vacation, Spring Vacation or All Summer Long without taking a day off from work. I don't really quite understand the Dilemma.