promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Will my python virtual environment wear down my SSD?

So I read that virtual machines tend to degrade SSDs, despite them being faster than HDDs. I'm completely new to python and I want to use Conda to create virtual environments so I don't have to keep track of a million packages. In the context of programming, is the term virtual environment different from virtual machines? I don't wanna wear down my SSD.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • oyubir
    Lv 6
    3 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Virtual environment is not a virtual machine.

SSD do not like to be rewriten often. Well, no disk like that. But SSD even less. When you use a SSD it is quite important to try to use them uniformly and, even better, to avoid writes. That is why it is often advised to use ramdisk as tmp file for system with no hard disk, or do avoid using swap, or to use a fusionfs to have a read-onjy system partition, with non persistent write capacity, etc, etc. 

Read any documentation on installing an OS on a raspberry pi (which, usually, use a low quality SSD : SD cards are low quality SSD)

Virtual machine use a file as an image of an hard disk. Each modification, and even each read of the virtual hard disk (including modifications swapfile in the virtual machine) will lead to a write of the image file on the host. If the host use a SSD, then that SSD will be heavily written.

But python virtual env has nothing to do with that. It is just a local storage of python packages. It allows to have, on the same machine, different configurations of python installations (in this virtual env, version 2.3 of package foo is installed, in that other env, version 2.2 is used, ...)

Once the virtual env is set up, using it does not generate any writing. Not more than any regular programs (it depends on the program ; obviously, if the program writes a lot, virtual env or not, the disk will be written a lot)

So short answer is "no"