What are some tips and tricks to creative writing?

I have several ideas in my head that I think would make for a decent novel, maybe even a series if I got lucky enough. However, I'm a HORRENDOUS creative writer and can never get them to actually turn out well.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, having a realistic view on one's own writing capabilities is a good start. It means that you can see your own flaws, and that you're probably willing to learn how to fix them.

The good news is that many writing techniques are something that can be learned, just like with everything else. It just takes dedication and hard work. I'm not saying that's all it takes to become a brilliant writer, but it should be enough to become an adequate writer.If you can spot your own main weakness, then start with that. You can take courses/classes, join workshops, or do your own research (there are a lot of internet resources). I joined a writing workshop when I first started out and it was invaluable, because it showed me what I needed to work on and opened my eyes to story structure, telling vs. showing, dialogue tags and beats, filters, overuse of -ly adverbs, sentence structure etc.

Basically, the workshop taught me that there is much more to creative writing than proper grammar and spelling, and what I needed to do to improve.So, my tip is to study the craft and read a lot of books on top of that.

Good luck!

• D1218
    Lv 4
    1 month ago

There's online lessons if you're willing to.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

The best way is just to keep on writing, keep working on your craft, practice and more practice. 

• 1 month ago

Work with shorter forms. Short stories and flash fiction take focus and are easier than trying to flesh out a 60,000 word novel.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Speed
    Lv 7
    1 month ago