Is it true most college professors and college administrators are radical progressives?

If so, do you think college students are indoctrinated into progressivism? Do you think colleges should require political diversity? My dad says they are all leftist, and from what I have seen he is correct. Every college professor I encounter online is a progressive?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

That was not my experience.  However, I studied the sciences and politics rarely got mentioned at all. Football was more common a subject that profs would raise that was not related to the curriculum.  Politics though?  pretty well never. The main reason that people tend to become "progressive" with education is that education makes you recognize all the lies that you were told while attending the government-run school systems.

The role of public schools for youth in controlling thought among the population is pretty obvious once you get a chance to see other ways of thinking.  The entire objective of public schooling is to "make good citizens".  Well, what does that mean in detail?  When you are taught to ask questions, which is the primary role of a university education, and you then ask questions and learn answers that had been hidden from you, it is not a brainwashing.  It is the opposite of it.  Not all become progressives from this either.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Laurie
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Nonsense. I’m betting your dad is himself uneducated. Radical conservatives and religious fundamentalists retain influence and power by keeping people ignorant - especially women and young people. That is why they fear education and a free exchange of opinions. They want to tell you what you SHOULD believe, and what you SHOULD think, instead of giving you access to information, opinions, and then trusting you to make up your own mind.

• 1 month ago

Perhaps you become more progressive with education...and it's not actually a bad thing.