james asked in SportsFootball (American) · 2 months ago

Who is right? Me or my dad. I told him that there is no such thing, but he says that if there is a force out then its a catch. Who is right?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

    You're Dad is about 10 years late.

    There used to be a rule that if a receiver caught a ball in the air, and the defender pushed them out before they landed, the officials could rule that he had been forced out of bounds and the catch would be ruled a completion.

    The big problem though was that its subjective based on the official's judgement of whether or not the receiver would have landed in bounds. Anytime a player caught a ball out of bounds with any amount of contact the fans for the offense would want the officials to rule it a force out. Defenses were in a tough spot because if you hit a guy as he catches the ball near the sideline you could end up giving them a completion on this ruling where he might have just stepped out on his own if you didn't hit him.

    It just caused more problems than it was worth, so in the spring of 2008 they abolished that rule (implemented for the 2008 season) - from that point forward the rule is that the receiver must get either 2 feet or 1 other body part down in bounds. If the defender hits you in the air and drives you out of bounds then its incomplete. This makes the rule much more black and white by eliminating the official's judgement and makes for something that can be definitively verified or overturned via replay when the officials make a mistake.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Well there is such a thing but it is no longer in the NFL

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    That rule is no longer in place, so your Dad is wrong.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    You're right. The defensive back is trying to force the receiver out of bounds, give them no room to get one foot down (college) or both feet down (NFL). The moment the ball touches the receiver's hands, contact is allowed, and if that contact prevents those feet coming down in bounds, incomplete catch.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

    The old rule is that if a receiver has the ball in the air and he would have landed inbounds, it would be a catch even if he is pushed while he is in midair and he lands out of bounds. The new rule is that it would not be a catch, so your dad probably doesn't know about the new rule.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Bob
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    There is no such thing as a force out in the NFL, there used to be but they changed the rule several years ago.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Cu Tie
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    Actually, there was a force out rule before it was changed during the 2004 offseason. The last ever force out occurred during the final play of the 2003 regular season, in which the Cardinals defeated the Vikings, to knock the Vikings (who started the season 6-0) out of the playoffs.

    Source(s): Here is the video of the last ever force out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL8S4G9zFK8
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

    The rule changed in 2008. It used to be that if a receiver was forced out of bounds it could still be ruled a catch but that rule doesn't exist anymore. 

    https://www.upi.com/Sports_News/2008/04/02/NFL-kil...

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Mike W
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    Currently, if a player is forced out of bounds while catching the ball, it's an incomplete pass, even if they catch the ball.  In the past, the officials could rule that they would have landed inbounds if they weren't pushed, and ruled it a completed pass.  

    • Login to reply the answers
  • klypos
    Lv 6
    2 months ago

    \Instant karma gonna get YOU!

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.